NBA04287.jpg

EST. | 2019

Aabachstr 16, ZUG

+41 79 468 29 02

MO-FR 8 AM - 5 PM

SAT-SUN 10 AM - 5 PM

%D0%A1%D0%BD%D0%B8%D0%BC%D0%BE%D0%BA%20%
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
 

MATILDA'S STORY

I was born in Hong Kong in 1992 and spent my first years in China and Australia before we moved to Switzerland. Already at the age of two, my parents took me along to the Utengule coffee plantation in Tanzania and I guess it was then I heard the word KAHAWAfor the first time.

 

I spent a lot of time on Utengule and the farm, which celebrated its 100-year anniversary in 2019, and to this day it is family property.

 

In recent years, I had the pleasure to visit other plantations in places such as Brazil, Uganda and Costa Rica and these were all incredible experiences!

 

Coffee from tree to cup is a much-discussed subject in the family, therefore the opening of KAHAWACafé is a dream come true for me. Offering prime quality coffee from Utengule as well as other countries in the cup as well as roasted beans for you to take home is exciting and challenging.

 

It is the ambition of KAHAWACafé to select, roast and brew great coffee for you!

NBA04224_edited.jpg

WHY KAHAWA?

The history of coffee dates back to the 15th century, and possibly earlier with a number legends surrounding its discovery and first use. So goes the story of herder Kaldi in Ethiopia, who’s goats got very energetic when eating fresh coffee cherries. He reported his findings to the abbot of the local monastery, who made a drink with the berries and found that it kept him alert through the long hours of evening prayer
When the Arabs from Yemen detected coffee, they called it QAHWAH and since they were the first merchants in East Africa, the word evolved into the Swahili expression KAHAWA, where to this day the coffee trees in the field, the beans and the drink are all called KAHAWA.
The Turks were among the first regular coffee drinkers and they called it KAHVE, which the Dutch sailors borrowed for their word KOFFIE, finally leading to the English COFFEE or the German KAFFEE.

 

OUR COFFEE

Definitely a place you should visit as a coffee connoisseur. Here you can delve into the world of coffee, enjoy the best roasts and talk shop with the team. You are just as welcome if you are a novice when it comes to coffee. Here you can find out everything to become a true barista expert!

At the Kahawa café, we roast coffee exclusively from plants which we have a personal relationship with, from countries that are well known for their high-quality coffee. This includes highland coffees from Tanzania and Ethiopia, or Brazil and Mexico on the other side of the Atlantic as well as special coffee from India. We place a lot of importance on ethically produced coffee such as strong protection of biodiversity, the wellbeing of employees and the support of the local population.

In addition to “Matilda’s Choice” our special mixture used at the bar, we also regularly offer seasonal coffee-novelties. We will be offering something different every month, as well as introducing one-time coffee guests or extraordinary rarities – naturally always brewed in our wonderful

La Marzocco Strada.

NBA04253.jpg
NBA04326.jpg
 

CONTACT US

Do you love coffee? So do we! That is why we have our very own in-house coffee roastery. Enjoy freshly roasted coffee and get our delicious house roast, produced on-site in Kahawa Café . Furthermore, you can try out different espresso machines, get expert advice and purchase one straight away if you like. Get in touch with us +41 79 468 29 02

Thanks for submitting!

NBA04287.jpg

EST. | 2019

Aabachstr 16, ZUG

+41 79 468 29 02

MO-FR 8 AM - 5 PM

SAT-SUN 10 AM - 5 PM

%D0%A1%D0%BD%D0%B8%D0%BC%D0%BE%D0%BA%20%
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
 

MATILDA'S WERDEGANG

Ich kam 1992 in Hong Kong zur Welt und lebte die ersten Jahre in China und Australien, bevor wir in die Schweiz umzogen. Schon als 2-jährige nahmen mich meine Eltern mit auf die Utengule Kaffeeplantage in Tanzania und ich hörte wohl damals zum ersten Mal das Wort KAHAWA. Utengule, auf der ich viel Zeit verbracht habe, feiert 2019 das 100-jährige Jubiläum und die Farm ist bis heute in Familienbesitz.
In den vergangenen Jahren durfte ich andere Plantagen in Brasilien, Uganda und Costa Rica besuchen und es war jedesmal ein wunderbares Erlebnis.


Kaffee vom Baum zur Tasse ist Dauerthema in meiner Familie und mit der Eröffnung des KAHAWA Café wird ein Traum wahr. Kaffee der Utengule aber auch erstklassige Kaffees aus anderen Ländern, in Tasse und gerösteten Bohnen anzubieten, ist spannend und herausfordernd zugleich. 
 

Es ist die Ambition des KAHAWA Café, tollen Kaffee für Dich zu selektionieren, zu rösten und zu brauen!

NBA04224_edited.jpg

WARUM KAHAWA?

Die Geschichte des Kaffees beginnt im 15. Jarhundert oder noch früher und dessen Entdeckung als auch der erste Konsum ist von vielen Legenden umgeben. So etwa die Geschichte des Hirten Kaldi in Äthiopien, dessen Ziegen sich nach dem Genuss von frischen Kaffeekirschen sehr aufgeregt benahmen. Er berichtete dies an den Abt eines lokalen Klosters, der aus den Kirschen ein Getränk herstellte und bemerkte, dass er während der langen Gebetsstunden länger aufmerksam blieb.
Als die Araber aus Jemen den Kaffee entdeckten, nannten sie ihn QAHWAH und da sie als erste Handel in Ostafrika betrieben, wandelte sich das Wort dort in den Swahili Ausdruck KAHAWA. Noch heute werden Kaffeepflanzen, die Bohnen als auch das Getränk KAHAWA genannt.
Die Türken gehörten zu den ersten, die Kaffee regelmässig konsumierten und nannten ihn KAHVE, wovon die holländischen Seefahrer das Wort KOFFIE ableiteten. Dies führte wiederum zum englischen COFFEE und dem deutschen KAFFEE.

 

UNSER KAFFEE

Auf jeden Fall ein Ort, den Sie als Kaffeekenner besuchen sollten. Hier können Sie in die Welt des Kaffees eintauchen, die besten Röstungen geniessen und mit dem Team sprechen. Sie sind genauso willkommen, wenn Sie ein Anfänger sind, wenn es um Kaffee geht. Hier erfahren Sie alles, um ein wahrer Barista-Experte zu werden!

Im Kahawa Café rösten wir Kaffee ausschliesslich aus Gebieten, mit denen wir eine persönliche Beziehung haben, aus Ländern, die für ihren hochwertigen Kaffee bekannt sind. Dazu gehören Hochlandkaffees aus Tansania und Äthiopien, sowie Brasilien und Mexiko auf der anderen Seite des Atlantiks, sowie Spezialkaffee aus Indien. Wir legen grossen Wert auf ethisch angebauten Kaffee sowie einen starken Schutz der biologischen Vielfalt, das Wohlbefinden der Mitarbeiter und die Unterstützung der lokalen Bevölkerung.

Neben „Matilda´s Choice“, unserer speziellen Mischung welche an der Bar verwendet wird, bieten wir regelmässig saisonale Kaffee-Neuheiten an. Wir bieten jeden Monat etwas anderes an und stellen einmalige Kaffeegäste oder aussergewöhnliche Raritäten vor - natürlich immer in unserer wunderschönen La Marzocco Strada gebraut.
 

NBA04253.jpg
NBA04326.jpg
 

KONTAKT

Lieben Sie Kaffee wie wir? Die ist mitunder der Grund, weshalb wir eine eigene Rösterei haben. Geniessen Sie unseren frisch gerösteten Kaffee, produziert im Kahawa Café. Zudem können Sie auch diverse Espresso Maschinen ausprobieren und Experten zum Rat beiziehen. Rufen Sie uns an unter +41 79 468 29 02

Thanks for submitting!